d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > My First Steak
Prev12345Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 785.00
Dec 17 2018 03:15pm
Quote (Murresh @ Dec 17 2018 04:04pm)
Disagree imo.

Mind you saying that I am a chef by trade.

For best result imo unless you've got a sous vide i'd recommend doing the following;

Put the steak on a plate and season with salt on both sides, leave in room temp for as long as you can muster before cooking.

Pre heat a pan to piping hot, add oil and allow to get hot, then sear on one side roughly 2 minutes.
Flip, add butter, rosemary and a clove of garlic which you simply smash with the knife roughly and baste.

Allow to cook for another ~ 2-3 minutes and put aside on a plate to rest, after that simply cut it and season with some freshly ground black and white pepper.

All of this. But don't crush the garlic and don't worry about white pepper unless you have it
Gold: 397.00
Warn: 60%
Dec 17 2018 03:36pm
Quote (Murresh @ 17 Dec 2018 22:04)
Disagree imo.

Mind you saying that I am a chef by trade.

For best result imo unless you've got a sous vide i'd recommend doing the following;

Put the steak on a plate and season with salt on both sides, leave in room temp for as long as you can muster before cooking.

Pre heat a pan to piping hot, add oil and allow to get hot, then sear on one side roughly 2 minutes.
Flip, add butter, rosemary and a clove of garlic which you simply smash with the knife roughly and baste.

Allow to cook for another ~ 2-3 minutes and put aside on a plate to rest, after that simply cut it and season with some freshly ground black and white pepper.

You really recommend cooking steak sous vide? Is there really something to that?

Yes, forgot about room tempering the steak, or whatever meat one cooks. That is important.

Why and how would you cut it after it has rested?

Thanks for your advice, i dig it when pros share knowledge.
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Dec 17 2018 04:37pm