d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Other Games > Other Games > Magic: The Gathering > Should I Play Arena Or Mtgo
123Next
Add Reply New Trade New Topic New Poll
Gold: 17,071.70
Oct 15 2018 06:48pm
Arena is newer and looks prettier. Vault system blows so I don't really wanna spend $ on it lol

MTGO looks like something worth investing money into.

I'm pretty new to magic and am playing arena right now to learn the game.

Your opinions?

This post was edited by Lray on Oct 15 2018 06:48pm
Gold: 0.00
Oct 15 2018 07:01pm
arena.
Gold: 1,204.04
Oct 17 2018 12:08pm
What format do you want to play?
If newest sets, Standard, Arena is probably the choice. (Will cost more in the long run)
If Modern, Legacy, or other formats... MtGO is great.
You can buy a modern deck from one of the many vendors and play it for a long time at a set cost. Modern has a lot of great decks to choose from that are competitive, Standard is constantly changing on the other hand
Gold: 80.00
Oct 17 2018 05:31pm
If you know exactly which deck you want to play and only want to play standard ignore MTGO and play Arena for free, the wildcard system will allow you to make a decent deck for free as long as you have an idea of what is good in the meta and choose the cheapest build.

If you want to play with many strong decks Arena is not a good choice as there is no trading, MTGO you can acquire very strong decks for much less and any money spent can be somewhat redeemed later if necessary and theres more gaming modes and all the older cards are going to give you basically unlimited hours of deckbuilding etc so much youll get lost which is fun.

Drafting as a free player on Arena is a nice reward you cant get on MTGO and Arena is WAY better if you have dodgy internet when drafting as it is not time dependant to make your deck and you can choose when to play matches, no waiting for others to finish.