d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Political & Religious Debate > Police Where I Live > Knocked My Friend Clean Out
Prev1891011Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 2,489.69
May 15 2015 11:46am
Quote (card_sultan @ May 15 2015 11:38am)
Simply firing somebody is not enough punishment in some cases. It esentially only allows them to continue their brain-masterbation.

Someone getting fired as a cook i would agree with you. They can simply not put that restaurant on their resume and get another job. If you fire a cop, especially for a misuse of force reason, they will in all likelihood never serve as a cop again. It is impossible for a cop to move from one precinct to another without someone knowing about it. They usually end up as rent-a-cops at the local shopping mall, or work private security. Either way their career is over, state benefits lost, and they can't use their job experience to leverage an equivilent job like most people who get fired from a job. On top of that this guy is getting charged with misdemeanor assault, which is exactly what any person would get for picking up someone and dropping them on cement. He's likely headed to jail for 2-3 months where people will know hes a cop. Seems like justice is served to me. At least for a single instance of tripping someone. There was nothing in the story nor the person who posted here that went on about long term damage, my guess is the guy woke up with a shiner and the cop now has to rearrange his life. Justice served, cries for blood are just childish in comparison to a loss of a career.

Also the proceeds of the fight could go to the victim's family and might prevent an actual lawsuit

Yes subject the guy to getting his ass whooped to avoid a 10-20k$ lawsuit. The guy got dropped on his face not beaten repeatedly with a nightstick. No grand jury would give him more than that, if anything.

This post was edited by thesnipa on May 15 2015 11:49am
Gold: 8,933.00
May 15 2015 01:23pm