d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Political & Religious Debate > My Views On Helping The Poor
Prev13456729Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 171.76
Apr 8 2015 10:50am
Quote (AspenSniper @ Apr 8 2015 11:49am)
What did you do for the 3 months after you graduated? Interview/apply right? Why couldn't you work? I'm assuming you were granted the benefit I did when I graduated, I was living at home and didn't need to. I worked by choice anyways though because I wanted to own my own home by age 23 (which I do.)

Oh please, those managers don't think that deeply into it. Go apply to 20 retail/restaurant places and 1/20 will snag you in 2 seconds. Just say you need extra cash and aren't ashamed to work for minimum wage. They'll respect you and hire you. I've done that too.

I agree, I own a home now and $500/month wouldn't pay for shit. That's why I worked hard and got a 2nd job on weekends to create savings for a rainy day. Even before I was making 6 figures I was making $35k in my first "big boy job" and I was banking $500 of that per month in savings living extremely frugal. Had I lost my job just 6 months in, i'd have $3000 to play with til I got a new job.

You have some unrealistic expectations..

Good on you for having drive and motivation and intelligence and a good support network .

There are those out there who cannot ever get any higher than menial work and if they lose that job everything poofs.

Gold: 287,385.50
Apr 8 2015 10:53am
Quote (kalelvszod @ Apr 8 2015 12:48pm)