d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Science, Technology & Nature > First Time Buying Bitcoin
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 1,453.85
Dec 30 2022 03:43pm
Hello. I am a total beginner when it comes to bitcoin. I have a few questions:

1. What bitcoin wallet do you recommend? I don't have a cell phone, I will be doing all the buying and sending on my laptop. I don't need anything fancy, I will only be sending a small amount of bitcoin (worth about 90 CAD) every month. I need something that's very easy to use, very beginner-friendly, and secure. It's ok if it's a bit slower.

2. Is this a good place to buy bitcoin? https://buy.bitcoin.com/

3. How much are the transaction fees that I can expect each time I send bitcoin to someone? I will be sending like 90 CAD at a time.

4. Is it cheaper to buy a bigger amount of bitcoin at a time or is it better to do several smaller transactions?

5. Is bitcoin a good place for me to "park" my money? For example, let's say I have some spare cash. Can I just buy bitcoin and let it sit in my wallet without sending to anyone.

Thank you.
Gold: 12,797.00
Warn: 20%
Dec 30 2022 05:41pm
whenever i wanna "park" my money, i just buy canned food. it lasts for years, is actually usable, is stable as fuck with absolutely zero inflation no matter what happens :mellow:

the only problem is storage space, but oh well :wacko:

This post was edited by Snyft2 on Dec 30 2022 05:41pm
Gold: 6,071.69
Dec 30 2022 08:01pm
1.I use exodus wallet of my pc and I am thoroughly impressed.

2. Not sure i just use Coinbase (in the US), its been the safest for me.

3. It adjustable , sometimes its 7cents ranging to a few dollars. Most wallets let you set the rate. The less you pay the longer the txn takes.

4. I think its better if you send larger amounts. If u have alot of BTC send a test transaction first to make sure its going to the right destination.

5. Nobody knows, bitcoin is like the stock market, could go up could go down.