d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Computer Hardware Discussion > Misc Computer Help > Anyone Able To Figure Out Why I Can't Stop Lagging
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Candyzcanes
#1 Jan 22 2020 04:30pm
Group: Member
Posts: 20,533
Joined: Dec 6 2008
Gold: 604.00
Trader: Mediator
My system: 16gb ram, nvidia geforce gtx 980ti, amd ryzen 5 1600 running @ 3.5ghz, samsung 850 evo ssd, 144hz monitor

Windows 10 Pro, 64bit.

What happens:

I try to run any game, terrible frames. Terrible frame drops. Running at LOW in counterstrike global offensive for example, I'm getting 80-100fps. I have my launch options set to -144hz.

What I've tried:

Using DDU to reinstall the drivers. No luck. After install, it says 'install nvidia control panel from windows store!'. If only it was that easy. I've tried installing, but nothing happens. I press "install" on the MS store, nothing. I log in, try the same, nothing. It simply doesn't install/download.

Completely cleaning my pc, rerouting fans, making sure fans turned on, checking temps.. (cpu running at 32 degrees and GPU at about 75...)
- Different cords (hdmi, vga, dvi, display port)
- Different monitor
- Running at 60hz
- ONLY running the game and turning off every single background program
- Malware checks/registry checks (ccleaner, malwarebytes)

I can't check vsync settings, because those are in nvidia control panel from the MS store, which won't download or install. Nor can I check if it's being fps capped.

Please, for the love of gaming help me, before I throw this god forsaken MS locked control panel out the window. I miss gaming.

This post was edited by Candyzcanes on Jan 22 2020 04:46pm
tagged4nothing
#2 Jan 22 2020 05:39pm
Group: Member
Posts: 24,353
Joined: Jun 14 2006
Gold: 15,400.27
Trader: Trusted
you try getting drivers from the site?
https://www.geforce.com/drivers
Haj
#3 Jan 22 2020 05:39pm
Group: Member
Posts: 3,342
Joined: Sep 12 2011
Gold: 2,505.00
if u dont have the nvidia control panel that could mean ur gpu drivers is not even installed..

have u tried downloading geforce experience from nvidia's website? that should auto download and install the driver u need
Ghot
#4 Jan 22 2020 05:41pm
Group: Member
Posts: 97,537
Joined: Apr 25 2006
Gold: 10,175.00
For a possible quick fix... DDU again, and an older driver...

https://www.guru3d.com/files-categories/videocards-nvidia-geforce-vista-%7C-7.html <---- for 7/8/10 etc.



/e Just make sure the driver is... WHQL

This post was edited by Ghot on Jan 22 2020 05:43pm
Megatroniks
#5 Jan 22 2020 05:57pm
Group: Member
Posts: 1,618
Joined: Feb 14 2018
Gold: 241.71
Turn off virus scanner run in admim
Candyzcanes
#6 Jan 22 2020 06:01pm
Group: Member
Posts: 20,533
Joined: Dec 6 2008
Gold: 604.00
Trader: Mediator
Quote (tagged4nothing @ Jan 22 2020 04:39pm)
you try getting drivers from the site?
https://www.geforce.com/drivers


Yes

Quote (Ghot @ Jan 22 2020 04:41pm)
For a possible quick fix... DDU again, and an older driver...

https://www.guru3d.com/files-categories/videocards-nvidia-geforce-vista-%7C-7.html <---- for 7/8/10 etc.



/e Just make sure the driver is... WHQL


Good call, maybe one that isn't integrated with windows store rated asshole. I found that my windows update service wasn't running, so I'm trying to repair and see if that'll fix it.

Quote (Megatroniks @ Jan 22 2020 04:57pm)
Turn off virus scanner run in admim


I don't run any active protection.
King Atrhur
#7 Jan 22 2020 06:20pm
Group: Member
Posts: 101,510
Joined: Feb 1 2006
Gold: 172,860.00
Warn: 10%
run hd tunes benchmark.
also pop in the health tab and see what it says.

additionally if you don't mind using team viewer i can see about installing the drivers myself.
Candyzcanes
#8 Jan 22 2020 07:37pm
Group: Member
Posts: 20,533
Joined: Dec 6 2008
Gold: 604.00
Trader: Mediator
Quote (King Atrhur @ Jan 22 2020 05:20pm)
run hd tunes benchmark.
also pop in the health tab and see what it says.

additionally if you don't mind using team viewer i can see about installing the drivers myself.


I'll pm you on that - I ran Tweaking and it found a whole bunch of Windows services weren't functioning properly, and now it's actually updating.. I'll let y'all know if it works after the updates.
Candyzcanes
#9 Jan 22 2020 10:07pm
Group: Member
Posts: 20,533
Joined: Dec 6 2008
Gold: 604.00
Trader: Mediator
Quote (King Atrhur @ Jan 22 2020 05:20pm)
run hd tunes benchmark.
also pop in the health tab and see what it says.

additionally if you don't mind using team viewer i can see about installing the drivers myself.


I was way behind on windows updates, once I caught up it auto-installed nvidia control center and I disabled vsync and adjusted general settings to put to performance.. is it possible that somehow it made it worse?

HD TUNE:
Ran error scan on SSD/HDD, both 100% good.
SSD (which I have cs on) results:
Min: 338mb/s
Max: 433mb/s
Avg: 411mb/s
Access time: 0.1ms
Burst rate: 158mb/s
CPU Usage: 5.8%

Health tab everything says OK.

Also ran cmd and checked
sfc /scannow
corrupted, repaired


This post was edited by Candyzcanes on Jan 22 2020 10:27pm
King Atrhur
#10 Jan 22 2020 10:30pm
Group: Member
Posts: 101,510
Joined: Feb 1 2006
Gold: 172,860.00
Warn: 10%
Error scan is meaningless unless u run a deep scan.
Also don't deep scan an ssd. It's a lot of drive writing.

Drives appear fine.
Use ddu and redo drivers after all updates done and get back to us.
Go Back To Misc Computer Help Topic List
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll