d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Sports Coliseum > Health & Fitness > Jumpers Knee > 6months Of Suffering
Prev12
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 24,272.01
Dec 24 2018 05:39am
Quote (Neptunus @ Dec 24 2018 10:47am)
When you have tissue damage, you have inflammation. It's what mediates the pain, hence the suggestions for using NSAIDs. Jumper's knee is also known as patellar tendonitis, which directly refers to inflammation.

Physiotherapy and rest are really what you need. Icing can help. And of course pausing activities that provoke the pain until it's gone. I'm not an expert on the benefits of eccentric exercises, but if it targets the quadriceps i would think it can aggravate the condition.

It's indeed good to train every other muscle that doesn't provoke the pain and isn't connected to the patellar tendon. Daily training can also be a reason behind your prolonged pain, you need to have days where you do nothing with the knee. Overuse injuries are really annoying, it's good to remember it took months/weeks to build it up, and it will take weeks/months to heal. I forgot to mention patience on the list of things that help. Best of luck! :)

Thanks! Correction, it ‘was’ called tendonitis; hence the «re-classified as tendinopathy». What you said is exactly why doctors are no longer suggesting NSAIDs, with inflammation not being the injury- it can actually have a negative effect on the rehabilitation. I guess ‘some’ inflammation is necessary (?).

As of right now, I’ve been doing 3-6 sets og ecccentric training. I’ll try adding additional foaming, some sumo deadlifts and some off-days on the rehab-exercises. Patience is not my strong suit :(

Thanks!