d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Vpn Security Question With Reward For Answer
12Next
Closed New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
May 25 2018 02:36am
Hi all, I am an admitted newbie on the subject. I’ve read on the net, but wasn’t able to find a clear answer to the following questions:

1) Can betternet (a free VPN app I use on my iPhone) “see” my usernames and passwords? I don’t care so much that it’s tracking me anonymously, but I don’t want accounts to any sites to be tracked in any way. For example, I don’t care that it can see I’m on Facebook, but I do care if it sees my username and/or password

2) There’s a feature on the iPhone where I can toggle the VPN on/off. If it’s on the off setting, and the app is closed, can it still track me anonymously or “see” anything?

Thanks so much in advance for your help!

The first poster who answers the above questions with some evidence, proof, or logic of his claims will get the option between:

A) 200 fg sent directly to you
B) 1000fg bet on an nba game of your choice, on the team of your choice with the spread. If the bet wins, you’ll get 500fg. If it loses, then I bear the cost and you get nothing.
Gold: 1,939.50
May 25 2018 07:36am
1) The VPN can see all of your traffic to every website you see. You are sending all of the data to them to be relayed. However, if you're visiting websites which are secure (HTTPS) all of that traffic will be encrypted. That means if you're visiting Facebook, which is secure, they cannot see your username or passwords because a secure connection is established before any data is sent over the wire. However, there is one scenario where this is not true and that is if you installed a certificate onto your device for betternet. In that case it can decrypt your HTTPS sessions.
2) No it will not be able to see your traffic if it is closed AND the background process is terminated.

A plz

This post was edited by waraholic on May 25 2018 07:36am