d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Anyone Go Through Datascience Bootcamp?
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Mar 16 2024 11:01am
I've been working professionally now for about 8 years and the last 4 have been in Corporate Finance FP&A. One thing I noticed is that there are only programmers, and only finance people, but there doesn't seem to be too many people to bridge that gap. And so with a really disappointing year review where I hoped the outcome to be much better, the outcome is what I had expected with the same generic guidance from management.

As a result, I think I have come to the conclusion that I am going to "reinvent" myself with my career and I want to go down the data science route, whether that be to bridge that gap i mentioned earlier, or go towards becoming a data scientist or even work in AI. I was looking into Flat Iron bootcamp online and it looks promising.

Is anyone aware of any other data science bootcamps? Has anyone gone through and willing to share their experience? And was anyone in a similar position as me - as in, working professionally and going to a bootcamp to change direction and what has your experience been?

Gold: 16,131.74
Mar 16 2024 11:33am
Flat Iron is a very respectable bootcamp. Especially for someone in your position who has years of experience in finance.

If you are looking for a paid program to build Machine Learning(AI) systems, I would recommend checking out @svpino on twitter. His website is also ml[dot]school.

I don't have personal experience with either of these options, but I see both talked about a fair amount on twitter.

The downside I usually see mentioned when it comes to bootcamps is that it's just not possible to become industry ready in 3 or 6 months, and that they work better for people who already are in a technical or finance focused industry.