d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Sports Coliseum > Health & Fitness > 100% Free Advice From A Professional > Ask Anything To A Trainer/bodybuilder
Prev11021031041051062039Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Mar 19 2009 10:35am
Hi, I've got a question.

I'm new to body building, saw your thread and thought it might be useful to me.
Anyways my goals are to gain more strength, thicker arms, gain weight, and maybe a 6-pack.
My goal atm is mainly to gain weight and gain more muscles.

Current stats:
5"9
145 lbs ( sad.gif )

I do have access to the gym and I do have some dumbbells at home.
I started working out with the dumbbells (just the usual triceps exercise) about 2 weeks ago,
atm I do 3x Sets:
1x 15 reps
1x 15 reps
1x 20 reps

They are not that heavy, about 22 lbs. (I'm dutch so we use the metric system with KG and Meters)

And I started doing triceps exercises about one week ago.
3x 10 reps per arm
about 20 lbs

I do these reps about 4 times a week before I go to sleep.
Haven't been to the gym for a while since all my friends quit, but planning on starting to go there again when I've got an idea of what I want to do.(boring to go there for me)

But I'm having huge problems with gaining weight and also I don't notice any real difference in my muscle strength. (I thought I could do a bit more reps after training with these dumbbells for almost 3 weeks.)
We do have a big jar of whey protein powder for protein shakes at home. I could use the powder if you suggest me to.
I'm not planning on buying any other pills/powder to build my body at the moment. Maybe when I become a bit more 'muscular'.

So my questions:
- What would be a good balanced meal for me to gain weight? (Aiming for ~150-160 lbs, so thats roughly 20 more lbs than I weigh atm)
- What would be good exercises to train my abs, triceps, biceps, shoulders, etc? I mean the full package
- Any other tips would be welcome wink.gif

Thanks in advance.