d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Contemplating Scratch Build.
Prev134567Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Feb 19 2013 07:04pm
With the desk getting closer to completion figure'd i should work on some more sleeving.
Just have one 8pin left, however i didn't realize cpu and pcie were different terminals.
Gotta modify my second set of 8pin terminals to work for pcie since the already made one works with cpu.

e/ inb4 comments about uneven sleeving inside the heatshrink =[ i'm new to this

This post was edited by psrocks on Feb 19 2013 07:05pm
Gold: 172.01
Feb 19 2013 07:18pm
Not only is this ridiculously cool,

It's really functional, gives easy access, lots of airflow and should be really easy to upgrade and change if you if you feel like it.

Only issue I can see if the glass getting warm/hot, but duoble glassing would fix that
Feb 19 2013 07:24pm
Quote (IIFOXII @ Feb 19 2013 08:18pm)
Not only is this ridiculously cool,

It's really functional, gives easy access, lots of airflow and should be really easy to upgrade and change if you if you feel like it.

Only issue I can see if the glass getting warm/hot, but duoble glassing would fix that

its going to be watercooled with a radiator in the back blowing out the back corner of the desk, should be very little if any heat upfront at all :D. Essentially solves the problem.
Will have 3 fans on each side blowing from 1 end to theother, i've decided not to use the 4 i cut on the back since we're low on room (between tubing, cabling, psu, pump, rad) and it shouldn't be that big an issue for heat anyways.
Gold: 172.01
Feb 19 2013 08:38pm
Oh right water cooling would solve any problems - just realized it has an epic water tank thing.

Now I want one, but if I tried to make it, it would just end up looking like a glass top desk with an open computer sitting on it's side under the glass...
Apr 1 2013 06:24pm
Got 2 posts here, due to picture limit so bare with me, however desk is almost complete.