d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > How Does One Learn How To Sing?
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 36,347.70
Dec 5 2014 10:35pm
I've been playing guitar for several years, and recently started to become more interested in acoustic songs. Problem is just strumming the chord progressions without any vocals is pretty bland, so I want to learn to sing as well. I've been trying to sing along with a few tracks as well as learn the vocal part on guitar and sing along to that, but I'm having a couple of issues:

1) My vocal range is really limited. I can't sing very high or very low.
2) I can maintain pitch sometimes but switching between notes I often make mistakes.
3) I have trouble playing guitar and singing at the same time; I often confuse the parts and end up throwing myself off.
4) When I'm not playing along with a track I can't just sing a note correctly out of the blue. I need some frame of reference.

What's the best way to improve upon these points? Any tips on how to teach myself how to sing? I have over 8 years experience on string instruments but this is much more challenging to me.
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Warn: 40%
Dec 7 2014 04:25am
1 3 5 sev 1 sev 5 3 1 - major

1 thra 5 sov 1 sov 5 thra 1 - minor

track yourself to an arpeggio on your guitar sing note for not

do 1 5 1 low 5 1 jumps

talking intervals ofc
Gold: 13.37
Dec 7 2014 06:10am
1) My vocal range is really limited. I can't sing very high or very low.
2) I can maintain pitch sometimes but switching between notes I often make mistakes.
3) I have trouble playing guitar and singing at the same time; I often confuse the parts and end up throwing myself off.
4) When I'm not playing along with a track I can't just sing a note correctly out of the blue. I need some frame of reference.

1) Look for some vocal practices online to open your voice properly and do it before practicing every time.