d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Get New Guitar Pickups
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Dec 3 2014 07:31pm
Currently I have an Ibanez RG2EX1 with Basswood and the V7/V8 pickup combo that came stock when I bought the guitar. They don't sound that bad to me, but I've had other people say that if I were to replace these with some decent active pickups, I could get a lot better tone and overall performance out of my guitar. (don't really feel like dropping the money on a completely new guitar as I'm a broke ass college student)
For what it's worth, I play through a Vox VT20+ Hybrid combo amp. The amp has a lot of nice features, but I do seem to have trouble getting the sounds I want (generally when I'm trying to mimmick someone elses guitar sound)

TL;DR
Is it worth it to replace pickups in an Ibanez RG that has v7/v8 base pups and if so, what would be some good choices? I play mostly rock, all kinds.
Dec 9 2014 09:32am
Can't go wrong with a '57 bucker pup. especially through a Vox.

If you're having trouble mimicking sounds though there are a Ton of pedals out there... Probably not worth replacing the pups in such a cheap guitar... pedals can help and you'll still have them when you get a better guitar down the road.
Dec 9 2014 07:47pm
Quote (Scaly @ Dec 9 2014 09:32am)

If you're having trouble mimicking sounds though there are a Ton of pedals out there... Probably not worth replacing the pups in such a cheap guitar... pedals can help and you'll still have them when you get a better guitar down the road.

The amp has all sorts of effects build in and I have a foot switch to control it all so I'm not sure how much a foot pedal would help.
What I have available on my amp:
Gold: 0.20
Dec 16 2014 05:33pm
Are you looking for a all around sound? I'd get dimarzios
Gold: 36.00
Jan 2 2015 06:47pm
Quote (Scaly @ Dec 9 2014 08:32am)