d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Electric Keyboard
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 500.69
Nov 30 2014 08:21pm
I want to learn how to play the piano and the closest thing I can afford to a piano is an electric keyboard

I have no knowledge on'em at all. I've never played it but I've been wanting to learn how to for years

I don't know what to buy. What's a good electric keyboard to begin working my way up to masterness?

Please suggest!

This post was edited by Katmunk on Nov 30 2014 08:21pm
Gold: 3,804.50
Nov 30 2014 09:31pm
someone made a similar topic a few months ago, but wasnt very helpful :/

http://forums.d2jsp.org/topic.php?t=71451169&f=187

Quote (Burzum @ Sep 23 2014 02:37pm)
Anything with 88 keys I'd assume? Honestly just make sure you have a good theory book by your side so you can study.

dunno if it helps, but this came up on google

https://www.hoffmanacademy.com/blog/choosing-a-piano-or-keyboard-for-the-beginning-student/

Electronic Keyboards
If you’re not ready to spend a few thousand dollars on an instrument, your beginning student can get a great start with an electronic keyboard or “digital piano”. Electronic keyboards come in many sizes and prices. For a new piano student, the most important factors will be the number of keys and whether or not the keys are weighted.

Learning on a keyboard with 88 weighted keys gives a student a big advantage. The weighted keys build hand strength and respond more like the keys of an acoustic piano, making it easier for an advancing student to move on. Our top pick for beginning students in the electronic keyboard category is the Casio Privia PX-150, which has great key action and the same size keyboard, 88 keys, as an acoustic piano. These and other similar keyboards cost around $700.