d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Acoustic Guitar Question > Need Help With A New Purchase
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 630.01
Jul 28 2013 09:23am
so i'm planning on buying a new guitar within the next week or so

i've been playing for about 4 years now and think it's time to upgrade from my entry level acoustic

also i'm debating between plain acoustic or getting an acoustic-electric, is there any cons to getting the combination?

i never use a pick as well and do a lot of strumming/finger picking

is there any brands or models geared specifically towards this type of playing without a pick? maybe a gentle sounding guitar or something i'm not really sure

any help would be GREATLY appreciated

oh and my budget is maybe around $700 ish, i can do a little more if really necessary and can always do less :)

just it's very intimidating going to a guitar store and i'm never sure where to start, so at least if i have a few models or brands in mind that i could try i'm sure it would help a lot

if it helps i play a lot of stuff like this:

sorry for the wall of text

This post was edited by BB_MelloYello on Jul 28 2013 09:27am
Gold: 5,268.80
Jul 29 2013 02:17am
#1 - If you are debating acoustic / elec/acoustic, then get the electric acoustic and i'll make it real simple for you.

Acoustic guitar - $300
Elec Acoustic - $300

You may have no aspirations to play live and thats fine,. You loose nothing from the instrument by having electric input, you do not have to use the input ever but it's good to have just in case.

Given your awesome budget, I would look at Fender / Takamine / Taylor / Martin / Gibson branded acoustics. There are other brands out there, and ofc try out as many as you want, but your price range means you can get real quality which in the long run is what will matter.

Gold: 3,500.00
Jul 29 2013 10:16am
Quote (bob(Cs2) @ Jul 29 2013 04:17am)