d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Is Chop Suey Hard To Play? > By Soad
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Jul 22 2012 04:55pm
its chop suey hard to play? and im a beginner do you think i could learn how to play it!
Gold: 0.69
Jul 22 2012 05:07pm
Depends on what you consider 'hard to play' and 'beginner'.

I'd state that yes, for a beginner, it's a bit complicated to play, as for the main verses, it will require you to alternate pick, and be agile enough on your fingers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0xj8AlXW7Q

Overall it's 'do-able' it just depends on how hard you want to play it.

As a teacher though, I recommend you set it as a goal, and learn the bits and pieces of it until you're able to play it through.

One of the first songs I wanted to learn to play ten years ago was Master of Puppets. Let me tell you, it's not an easy feat for a new guy. But as I learned other songs along the way, bits and pieces of Puppets was achievable, and the stamina/dexterity to play these kind of metal songs comes in.

Gold: 16,380.00
Jul 22 2012 06:53pm
this is one of those songs that won't sound good alone and you gotta play along with the song because the percussion is such a big part of it. not a huge fan of that
that being said, it's definitely a good song to practice rhythm and picking with

Quote (MoinkAlThor @ Jul 22 2012 06:07pm)
Depends on what you consider 'hard to play' and 'beginner'.

I'd state that yes, for a beginner, it's a bit complicated to play, as for the main verses, it will require you to alternate pick, and be agile enough on your fingers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0xj8AlXW7Q

Overall it's 'do-able' it just depends on how hard you want to play it.

As a teacher though, I recommend you set it as a goal, and learn the bits and pieces of it until you're able to play it through.