d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Thinking Of Buying An Electronic Drum Set > Looking For Tips And Advice.
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Apr 6 2012 08:37am
I want to try this out, I saw that the ALESIS dm6 is going at a price of $399 and i was thinking of buying it.
besides not having room in my house, i was wondering in general, how are electronic drum sets when compared to the real thing?

I've never played drums before, so im a complete an utter noob when it comes to percussion. Should I take lessons first to see if I like it?
Apr 7 2012 11:06pm
No drummers? I just bought a pair of sticks when i went to the store and have been beating on random stuff while I have a metronome on.
Gold: 12.00
Apr 8 2012 07:19am
Quote (Floppyduck @ Apr 6 2012 09:37am)
I want to try this out, I saw that the ALESIS dm6 is going at a price of $399 and i was thinking of buying it.
besides not having room in my house, i was wondering in general, how are electronic drum sets when compared to the real thing?

I've never played drums before, so im a complete an utter noob when it comes to percussion. Should I take lessons first to see if I like it?

Electronic drums are sample pads sprawled out in the configuration of a drum set. They are not instruments. On an electronic drum kit you can learn rhythms, rudiments, co-ordination, timing, pretty much anything you can learn on an acoustic drum kit except tone. There is no way to extract tone or sound out of an electronic drum kit. The sounds are predetermined by the sound module or drum brain. There are pros and cons to both the acoustic and electronic drum kit. The electronic kit is cost efficient, small, quiet and fun.