d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > A Good Question About Guitar And Practicing :p > Lmk What U Think
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Feb 14 2012 12:48pm
ok... so my question is basically about how i practice

when i started playing 8-9 months ago, i would sit and play and think of nothing else, but more and more alot of the things im playing just require repetition... things like pulloffs etc and i just run thru scales while i watch tv or do other things

is this ok? i mean i know it helps, that part is obvious, but does anyone have any facts relating to this issue. Take an excersize like scales, is it easier to learn if you are doign only that, or does finger mmemory or whatever even care that your paying attetion to waht your doing or watching tv at the same time :P
Gold: 4,618.80
Feb 14 2012 04:14pm
It's better to only have what is guitar related around you when practising. Watching TV is a distraction, and yes, you may be able to play guitar while watching TV, but it's not giving 100% attention to guitar - and that means you aren't improving 100% of your technique.

Switch off TV n stuff when playing - just have guitar and songs that you are playing too.
Gold: 221.20
Feb 14 2012 05:07pm
Practice is totally separate from playing.

If you're truly "practicing" you need to have a plan and a regiment to address and work on specific things with a long and short term goal.

You aren't hurting yourself or completely wasting your time by practicing in front of the TV, but you're likely not making effective use of your time, and you won't see the same type of progress.
Gold: 0.00
Feb 14 2012 09:43pm