d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > I Want To Start Playing Drums
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 3.00
Nov 1 2011 12:33pm
Hey. I've been playing guitar for about 10 years now, and i mainly play rock - deathmeal. i want to get into drums, but i can't get a real drumkit, only an electric. Any ideas which set i should buy?
Gold: 44.25
Nov 1 2011 03:54pm
Quote (ajklf @ Nov 1 2011 01:33pm)
Hey. I've been playing guitar for about 10 years now, and i mainly play rock - deathmeal. i want to get into drums, but i can't get a real drumkit, only an electric. Any ideas which set i should buy?

Problem with starting on electric kits is they all suck until you get to the higher price ranges, and even then once you start playing you may not like it. So you have this scenario:

A. Buy a really nice electric that's really expensive and hopefully you'll stick with it

B. Buy a shitty electric kit that's cheap but you'll hate yourself every time you play it (bad electric kits have bad triggers and they are not responsive like you'd like; meaning you could hit a pad and there may be lag or no sound at all)

What I would do if I were you is since you're apparently in some kind of sound restricted practice area, I'd get some practice pads and learn on them. At least start to learn on them, so you can get a feel for the instrument and get that feeling of inspiration to want to learn more. Once I were there, I'd consider getting a nice electric kit. This way you have the confidence of knowing you'll stick with it (I'm sure you have the musicianship to stick with it, since you played guitar for around 10 years, but drums are a whole 'nother animal. You may even wind up hating it) and you won't find yourself in a situation where you have to try to sell your now-used electric kit at a reduced price (if you can find a buyer at all).

Here are a few good examples of practice pads: