d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Is This A Good Or Bad Thign? > Hmm
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 655.00
Aug 24 2011 01:21am
I've been playing guitar on my own for a while now and I love the instrument so much, but I find that because I lack the musical knowlege (theory) I am not able to play to my full potential... All I ever really did was cover songs and such, I was never able to improvise...
I'm an ear-oriented musician... I can hear things and pick it up very well, which is why my piano teacher never played songs for me after realizing I had a very good ear. (I can't read music btw.)
My sight reading is level 1, but my hearing is what carried me to level 6 piano before I quit. (piano is quite boring)
I love the guitar though... but now, it's just really frustrating. I've decided I'm going to quit guitar and start picking up the drums....
my reasoning is as follows:

1. I can't read notes and drums don't have notes.
2. I play everything by ear... which means I can pick up on drums pretty fast... not technique wise, but fills and such.
3. I want to be able to improv and as long as I'm in correct time signature, it's very easy with the drums. (I don't have to worry about being in the wrong key.)

The problem I have with this is that I truly want to continue playing guitar but I feel like I'm not good enough nor will I ever be able to reach my goals.
Gold: 0.00
Aug 24 2011 03:19am