d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Guitar Lessons > Online
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Jul 2 2011 03:45pm
I've decided to learn something new this summer and over the course of two months I'm going to try and learn how to play guitar to some extent. I don't have much only an acoustic guitar, a beginners book of songs, tuner and plenty of guitar picks. I won't be able to take guitar lessons from a teacher so I need to do some lessons through videos etc. Can anyone recommend me a good site or series of videos that I can follow to help me learn the basics as well as progress?
Jul 2 2011 04:24pm
you cant learn it in 2 months, believe me i tried, im 3 months into it and its rough. You might be able to learn a song in a month if its not too difficult.

first songs i started learning were: house of the rising sun-animals, 1979-S&P, Luna-S&P, Rose Parade-ES, My Drug Buddy-LH.

theres are all pretty easy songs, and in a month if you played nothign but one of these songs you would probably be able to play them if u spend 1+ hour a day(wouldnt play them well though). This would be assuming that your fingers are adjusted enough that you can practice for 1 hour a day without issues.

The good news is, after you learn the basic music theory like chord progressions, pentatonic scales, blues scales, and a few songs. youll hvae plenty of stuff to practice for a full year or more. I learned pentatonic and blues scales about a month ago, and im sure ill be practicing them for YEARS to come. Same thing goes with common progressions in different keys.