d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > What Do You Play? > And More.
123Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 411.76
May 9 2011 09:25am
So I haven't really seen one of these around so I figured I would start it up.

I was really curious to see what people play and if they know how to read sheet music, they play by ear, or if they read tabs, or even something else.

I play Guitar (mainly classical style) a little bit of piano.
I use sheet music when I can to help myself be able to sight-read faster, but if it's not possible I use tabs.
Gold: 0.00
May 9 2011 10:19am
I've been playing gutiar for 6 years.

Mandolin for 6 months
Violin for 3 months
Piano on and off for a year or so (i don't play often)

I play by ear usually. I can read tabs of course but I just play by ear.
May 9 2011 10:36am
Quote (weasleface @ May 9 2011 12:19pm)
I've been playing gutiar for 6 years.

Mandolin for 6 months
Violin for 3 months
Piano on and off for a year or so (i don't play often)

I play by ear usually. I can read tabs of course but I just play by ear.

Damn, nice.
I've only been playing guitar for about a year seriously, but before that I messed around with it for years.

I am actually going to be starting to play Violin in about 4 months from now as well lol. Hope the transition isn't too bad.
Gold: 3,560.00
May 9 2011 10:55am
Percussions for ages
Bassoon for 4 years

Played piano for around 6 years.
May 9 2011 10:56am
Quote (Tenelen @ May 9 2011 12:36pm)
Damn, nice.
I've only been playing guitar for about a year seriously, but before that I messed around with it for years.

I am actually going to be starting to play Violin in about 4 months from now as well lol. Hope the transition isn't too bad.

The transition from guitar to violin is nothing alike.

You use a bow instead of a pick or fingers. A violin is fretless, making it alot harder to play and find each note.

Ive been playing it for 3 months and I still can't find every note right.