d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Guitar Chords
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 1,532.01
Dec 3 2010 06:33pm
First of all, I'm a complete beginner at guitar so if I'm missing something stupidly obvious, please forgive me.

Im currently learning 'If it means a lot to you' by A Day To Remember and I've come across a problem with the chords used in it.

The chords used are C/G, G, Gsus and Em/D.

Okay so the problem is, whenever I play C/G immediately after Em/D or vice versa, they seem to both make exactly the same sound, making them indistinguishable. Now, I've asked 3 other people's opinions on this and they all agree, there is absolubtly no difference between the two.

So I was wondering, does my guitar need adjusting or something? ie intonation or something?

If anyone who could help, I'd be very grateful :)
Gold: 4,807.80
Dec 3 2010 06:48pm
http://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/a/a_day_to_remember/if_it_means_a_lot_to_you_tab.htm

Dude, there's a blatent difference. You're adding a lower note to the chord. It's a subtle difference, but with the correct feeling with the sturm you can hear the change. If you want the best example, the chords you are confused by are the perfect example!

Play every indivual note of C/G. Listen to each note.
Now play every note in Em/D and hear the difference. Repeat this process with a lil bit of speed and keep doing the change. It's a simple one finger movement, and with that the chord turns in a new direction you see?
Gold: 1.00
Dec 4 2010 05:07pm
Quote (GetOnYourKnees @ Dec 3 2010 07:33pm)
First of all, I'm a complete beginner at guitar so if I'm missing something stupidly obvious, please forgive me.

Im currently learning 'If it means a lot to you' by A Day To Remember and I've come across a problem with the chords used in it.

The chords used are C/G, G, Gsus and Em/D.