d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Begining Electric Guitar Gear > I Need Some Help Please.
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 4.60
Mar 28 2010 11:40pm
Hey everyone,,

I've been playing acoustic guitar for approximately 5 years and I've had the urge to jump onto an electric. Since I've been playing acoustic for a while I didn't want to buy one of the terrible Starcaster starter kits or the Ibanez starter. I've already ordered my electric guitar, it's a Yamaha Pacifica 112v (I tested it out at my local music store and really liked it, plus the Old Violin Sunburst looks very sexy), and I'm just wondering which amp I should get. I'm really looking for a modeling amp and I'm torn between the Roland Micro Cube or the Peavey Vypyr 30. When I spoke to one of the owners at my local store, whom I've known for about 15 years(since I started playing saxophone at 8 years old), I was told to go with the Vypyr 30 since it's newer technology and has the stomp box effects but when I was playing my friend's Micro Cube it was pretty awesome(plus my room is incredibly small so the size factor gives it a small advantage). I've been doing a bunch of research on my own and I'm really leaning towards the Vypyr 30, due to having more options and control, but I'm just looking for some opinions.

Thanks everyone.
Gold: 25.00
Mar 29 2010 02:29pm
The type of advice you would get would vary greatly depending on your price range / whether you are ever going to want to play with a band / whether you actually care about your guitar tone or if you are indifferent and want a bunch of effects.
Gold: 4.60
Mar 29 2010 06:57pm
Quote (MyExitEmergency @ Mar 29 2010 03:29pm)
The type of advice you would get would vary greatly depending on your price range / whether you are ever going to want to play with a band / whether you actually care about your guitar tone or if you are indifferent and want a bunch of effects.