d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Paul Reed Smith Se's Series > A Guitar Review (in A Way?) Story
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 25.00
Aug 19 2009 03:02pm
I had heard a lot of mixed things about these series of guitars. So about 3 months ago I spent a lot of time in my local music store (Music 6000). I played a ridiculous amount of guitars (on a note I have been playing guitar for 14 years and have played most common high end guitars). I started looking at a few of these SE series. For the most part they had nice sound quality/construction and finish and had reasonable price tags (starting at around 499.00 and going up). I came across one they only had one of. It was the PRS SE Semi-Hollow body Custom. It had blonde flamed maple top, with a dark stained mahogony back. What caught my eye was how amazingly finished this guitar was, no pictures that I have seen even come close to well this finish is. There was no price tag, but I decided to plug it in. It honestly was amazing. It had wicked fat clean tones, great distortion, great sustain. Now I mainly play black/tech metal and have a slew of shredder guitars all packed with EMG's, but was impressed with the lead tone on this guitar. Switch to the neck pickup and it had very smooth and solid sweeping tones, handled distortion as well as the bridge pickup. What also really suprised me was how well the action could be setup for Dropped C tuning. It just threw me off how disparate the looks where from the tone. Not that it couldn't do soft I use this guitar for practice as well as recording it sounds that good with metal. The only thing I changed on this guitar was to add Sperzel Locking Tuners, now the stock were great for normal playing, but not for dropped metal. I still gig with my LTD ESP EC-1000, but thats only because I don't want to damage the finish on the PRS. Needless to say even though I had no intention of buying a guitar, I bought that mother that day and haven't regr