d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Drum Beginner Questions > Questions About Kits
123Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Jun 29 2009 06:11pm
Ok so lately I've been expressing some interest in learning how to play the drums. I have been a guitarist for about 5-6 years now, although I've kinda been losing interest watching people play drums and hearing drum parts in songs. I started looking at beginner acoustic sets of drums and doing some pricing. I'm not looking for anything spectacular, cymbals included with the set would be fine until I know if it's something I'm gonna stick with and keep doing, as well as the stock heads. The dilema I'm really stuck at is whether to go electronic or acoustic for my first set.

The main argument I'm having is that I'll probably be an apartment dweller for the next 3-5 years(I'm 19 and I currently go to school and will probably doing internships around the country during summers). So if I did get an acoustic set I might not be able to play it unless I'm at home for weekends or if I'm on vacation, and maybe sometimes at my school apartment during the day. So then I started researching different electronic sets. This seems like a good solution, low noise, I can play them when I want and where I want. The only thing I'm worried about is long term durability of cymbals, which wouldn't be a problem if I got a higher quality set. The other thing is would it really feel like a real acoustic drumset. I don't want to learn to play on an electronic set and then not be able to play as well on an acoustic set later on down the road, and have it permanently gimp my playing cause I learned to play a certain way.

So JSP, I come to you to get drummers opinions on the acoustic vs electronic drums debate. Heres the TL;DR.

Acoustic
Pros
-More realistic feel and sound
-Higher quality

Cons
-Loud(which isn't a bad thing unless you have angry neighbors :p)