d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Guitar Rig 3 And Cubase Tips > How To Sound Professional
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 4.01
Dec 1 2008 01:33pm
In all fairness, I'm a drummer. Also, my guitar isnt that good - but other people are getting a very professional sound out of guitar rig 3 which sounds mega clean with not much white noise...

I'm after tips like how to use reverb on cubase to great effect, and how to tweak a nice distortion to make it sound nicer on gr3.. anything that will help me and the general musicians community of jsp in recording some professional sounding stuff...

well i'm not expecting a reply to this topic.. but i'm hoping it'll be a hot one

thanks for your help all

regards
Gold: 23.00
Dec 5 2008 08:49pm
I use Cubase SX3. I've never used any sort of guitar modeling software, but tweaking usually goes the same way for any guitar tone. As far as guitar tones go, just go for a sound that you like. After you find your sound, you can smooth out the guitars and make them thicker by using a compressor. I'm not sure what version of Cubase you have, but VST dynamics is a standard plugin that comes with any Cubase. Make sure you have "compressor" selected. I usually end up using a ratio of 4:1, 1ms attack, and auto for the release. Set the threshold for about 2-4 dB of compression. Those are usually my settings, but you can always tweak them to your taste. Doubling guitars is also good, but I wouldn't just copy one guitar track and pan them left and right. Recording 2 of the same tracks will always make for a thicker sound. For EQ, I like to roll off the lows. Set a Hi Pass filter at around 75-100Hz. Boost around 1K and 5K. Again, not all tones are the same, so choose what you do wisely. For reverb, it all depends on the music. I usually don't add reverb to my rhythm guitar tracks, or if I do, I have reverb on my amp. Reverb sounds nice on clean guitars and solos I'd say. Reverb A is always a good one to use.