d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Advanced Ways To Get Better At The Cello? > (violoncello)
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Warn: 10%
May 14 2008 09:22pm
Just wondering more ADVANCED ways to get better at the Cello, I have been playing for about eight years, and currently am in High School. Our orchestra consists of about twelve cellos, and I am fourth chair. I was wondering if anybody can enlighten me on advanced techniques to get better while practicing. Please nothing obvious such as scales and sight reading. Just better and/or popular techniques.
Gold: 9.00
May 14 2008 09:52pm
Hmm...I steal from violin pieces on the guitar, so I would venture a guess the reverse is also possible. Is it possible to sweep on a cello? Maybe see if you can hammer/pull-off, that opens up trills. Integrate them into a nice fast scale, that'd sound pretty wicked (does on a guitar at least, especially with some taps).
Gold: 0.00
May 15 2008 12:51pm
The way I have always practiced to get better at guitar is just do normal scales, and keep in time with a metronome. After awhile you speed it up, and keep doing it until u can hardly play it good anymore, than practice at that speed till you can. After that I try playing music with strange/hard fingerings and practice those kind of things till i get good at them also. I guess all I basically do is find my limit at something, go a bit above it and practice like that till i can handle it, and then repeat.
Gold: 221.20
May 15 2008 03:17pm
GET A TEACHER.

You aren't going to get any better at a classical string instrument by asking on a diablo ii board. Get a qualified teacher who can give you the material and guidance to better yourself.
Gold: 2.85
May 18 2008 08:42pm
bass is better

all u have to do to start bass it tip the cello to the side and cello u got a bass
Gold: 221.20
May 19 2008 10:01pm
Quote (keefer7 @ Mon, May 19 2008, 02:42am)
bass is better