d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > What Do You Play? > And More.
Prev123Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
May 9 2011 03:42pm
Quote (Phisherman @ May 9 2011 05:34pm)
I've been playing for ~7 months.

I play my strat almost exclusively. I have an Ibanez acoustic but it's got some fret buzz problem that I can't figure out/can't afford to fix. I think the neck might be bent, but I'm not that into acoustic guitar anyway.

I normally play from tabs, but I know a decent amount about reading sheet music for a beginner (took a music theory class in high school a few years ago) so I've been trying to teach myself that too. Playing by ear is too hard for me at this point, but since I've started playing I've noticed that I can hear certain chords, detect some changes in tone, hear slight changes in effects, etc. Lately I've been practicing listening to a song and then trying to guess where the guitarist is playing on the fretboard as the song goes. I figure that's a good way to help train my ear a little faster.

I've also found myself trying to figure out a song through tabs and then realizing that the tabs are wrong and sometimes I'm able to make changes that sound closer to the correct notes. Playing by ear is frustrating, but knowing that it takes time keeps me from getting too frustrated with it.

Question. For those of you who can play by ear, how long did it take you to get good at it (how good at it are you?) and what are some tips for someone who's trying to learn? I've had people tell me that when learning guitar I shouldn't use tabs or sheet music, but only learn by ear. I think that's stupid because if they are using chords in the song that I don't know then there's no way to play it from ear. Thoughts?

Just to let you know, The necks of all gutiars are bent a little lol.

There is always supposed to be a slight arch in the neck of a guitar.