d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Please Help A Fellow Music Maker > With Studio Recording/engineering
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 1,577.00
Oct 10 2010 01:03am
I'm about to graduate college next spring and I have the opportunity to begin the career of my dreams as a music studio engineer. The problem is I didn't study with any equipment at college, I have no experience with most DAWs (Pro Tools, Reason), and I have no one to answer my many questions.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? What hardware/software is best for beginners? What education is usually required to get a job as an engineer in a professional studio? How to go about building your own home studio?
Gold: 12.00
Oct 10 2010 10:56am
Are you fucking serious? You went to college for recording/engineering and they didn't teach you any of that? Or did you just graduate and decide to pursue this?

When you say no experience with equipment do you mean just the DAW's or do you mean all equipment. Mic pre's, comps and processors? If you're going to work in a "pro" studio then the only piece of software you should be concerned with is Pro Tools.

There are sooooooo many ways to do it yourself and so many different budgets to do it on. I know people who operate a studio with a DAW, 2 channels of external mic pre's and no external hardware or devices. I think they might have 6-8 microphones at their disposal and everything is done within their realm, in the box. This set up would cost you about $3000 if you bought some used gear but that'd be Mic's, DAW, Cables, Speakers and the Pre's.