d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Muting The Strings With Sweep Picking
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Aug 15 2009 08:06am
im just wondering how u guys do, cos im still learning sweep and i wanna figure out wats best way to mute strings to have a clear sound

also do u guys always change pickup when sweeping? cos my neck pickup makes it sound much better, no overtones or anything, but i can hardly find th time to switch pickup while playing

so anyway to mute the strings do u
1-mute them with picking hand
2-mute them with the last finger that was on string
3-mute them with the next finger on the next string by sticking it next to the last string you picked ( thats how i do it right now, or try to, at least :O )

also ive seen this guy doesnt roll his fingers but rather moves them to the next string and it sounds pretty nice too, is it better to roll or to move ur fingersall along?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wmy2S-_W1LU

This post was edited by saume on Aug 15 2009 08:09am
Gold: 655.00
Aug 15 2009 10:08am
Quote (saume @ Sat, Aug 15 2009, 09:06am)
im just wondering how u guys do, cos im still learning sweep and i wanna figure out wats best way to mute strings to have a clear sound

also do u guys always change pickup when sweeping? cos my neck pickup makes it sound much better, no overtones or anything, but i can hardly find th time to switch pickup while playing

3-mute them with the next finger on the next string by sticking it next to the last string you picked ( thats how i do it right now, or try to, at least :O )

also ive seen this guy doesnt roll his fingers but rather moves them to the next string and it sounds pretty nice too, is it better to roll or to move ur fingersall along?

I'm learning to sweep pick to.
I'm not that good, but I'm finding that sweeping is so fast.. those rininging strings are barely noticeable unless ur really ringing them out.
I lift my fingers and it works pretty well.