d2jsp
Log InRegister
d2jsp Forums > d2jsp > General Help > General Help Archive > Authentication Required?
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Member
Posts: 13,865
Joined: Feb 18 2003
Gold: 100.69
Aug 9 2011 03:09pm
When I clicked on the link in BA-Juicer's signature, it took me to a thread and that pop-up came up. My anti-virus went insane. I know this is not specific to my computer because it happened on my iPhone, my girlfriend's iPhone and both of our iPod Touches.


Code
http://i.imgur.com/XMZoU.png


Image not posted because of file size and image dimensions

What in the hell is this?


/e This is the URL for reference: http://forums.d2jsp.org/topic.php?t=45214074&f=250

This post was edited by Banshee on Aug 9 2011 03:10pm
Member
Posts: 55,374
Joined: Mar 6 2006
Gold: 220.48
Aug 9 2011 03:10pm
The image is hosted on a website that requires you to sign in to view it, so anyone that isn't signed into that host will get that message.
Member
Posts: 13,865
Joined: Feb 18 2003
Gold: 100.69
Aug 9 2011 03:11pm
Quote (Arsenic_Touch @ Aug 9 2011 05:10pm)
The image is hosted on a website that requires you to sign in to view it, so anyone that isn't signed into that host will get that message.


Odd.
Member
Posts: 11,166
Joined: Jul 18 2010
Gold: 344.82
Aug 9 2011 03:11pm
Imgur is an image hosting site but some links are meant to look like common sites but can be virus related.

If you think it is a phinishing link I suggest you PM a Junior Moderator about it immediately.

Quote (Arsenic_Touch @ Aug 9 2011 04:10pm)
The image is hosted on a website that requires you to sign in to view it, so anyone that isn't signed into that host will get that message.


Ah makes sense

This post was edited by Kampy on Aug 9 2011 03:11pm
Member
Posts: 13,865
Joined: Feb 18 2003
Gold: 100.69
Aug 9 2011 03:12pm
Quote (Kampy @ Aug 9 2011 05:11pm)
Imgur is an image hosting site but some links are meant to look like common sites but can be virus related.

If you think it is a phinishing link I suggest you PM a Junior Moderator about it immediately.


The image in my post is one uploaded by me, a screenshot of the popup I received. Don't post here if you don't bother reading. :)
Member
Posts: 11,166
Joined: Jul 18 2010
Gold: 344.82
Aug 9 2011 03:13pm
Quote (Banshee @ Aug 9 2011 04:12pm)
The image in my post is one uploaded by me, a screenshot of the popup I received. Don't post here if you don't bother reading. :)


I read everything, you made it sound like that was the link that you clicked, I'm apologize for my mistake :(
Member
Posts: 13,865
Joined: Feb 18 2003
Gold: 100.69
Aug 9 2011 03:15pm
Quote (Kampy @ Aug 9 2011 05:13pm)
I read everything, you made it sound like that was the link that you clicked, I'm apologize for my mistake :(


Gotcha, well it appears that it isn't a image host. I've gotten this in several threads in the Bar and Pub Games sub-forum.
Member
Posts: 55,374
Joined: Mar 6 2006
Gold: 220.48
Aug 9 2011 03:16pm
Quote (Banshee @ Aug 9 2011 05:15pm)
Gotcha, well it appears that it isn't a image host. I've gotten this in several threads in the Bar and Pub Games sub-forum.


Link to the threads?
Member
Posts: 13,865
Joined: Feb 18 2003
Gold: 100.69
Aug 9 2011 03:17pm
Quote (Arsenic_Touch @ Aug 9 2011 05:16pm)
Link to the threads?


You can search for them yourself. I've left my apartment and I'm on a terrible 3G connection.
Member
Posts: 55,374
Joined: Mar 6 2006
Gold: 220.48
Aug 9 2011 03:21pm
Quote (Banshee @ Aug 9 2011 05:17pm)
You can search for them yourself. I've left my apartment and I'm on a terrible 3G connection.


http://forums.d2jsp.org/topic.php?t=56891893&f=10

It's the website. You can't view the image unless you're signed in.
Whether it's a malicious intent or not is open to speculation.
A senior mod has been directed to it, and it'll be looked into.

This post was edited by Arsenic_Touch on Aug 9 2011 03:48pm
Go Back To General Help Archive Topic List
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll