d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Political & Religious Debate > Kavanaugh Confirmation Hearing Week
Prev199100101102103443Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 2,504.69
Sep 21 2018 07:19am
Quote (Goomshill @ Sep 21 2018 07:00am)
So Kavanaugh's accuser rejected testifying on Monday and proposed testifying on Thursday.
I'm not an expert on esoteric senate rules and protocols, and I haven't read any detailed reporting on how it works yet, but I know that Kavanaugh has to be confirmed by the end of the week to be seated for oral arguments in the next SCOTUS term starting October 1st, a week from monday. So I am assuming that with Thursday hearings, it would be impossible to confirm Kavanaugh by the end of the senate's week. I don't know, are they in session friday? How much can democrats delay motions- the pick is still in the judiciary committee and has to go up for a full senate vote this week. I'm just assuming that with thursday testimony, it would delay kavanaugh that crucial week that prevents him from voting on cases this fall.

If that's true, then the bullshit-o-meter jumped from 11/10 to 20/10. How can democrats even maintain a fig leaf of pretense that the accuser is in good faith when they're engaging in such blatant delaying tactics to influence the court?

stop victim shaming u monster
Gold: 22,164.69
Sep 21 2018 07:30am
Quote (thesnipa @ Sep 21 2018 07:19am)
stop victim shaming u monster

I'm literally raping her with my logic
Gold: 13,704.02
Sep 21 2018 07:33am
Well, time to shit or get off the pot. Let's see if she'll testify or just stall.

I vote Stall.
Sep 21 2018 07:39am
Quote (djman72 @ Sep 21 2018 07:33am)
Well, time to shit or get off the pot. Let's see if she'll testify or just stall.

I vote Stall.

these are her conditions:

Ford will not appear any sooner than next Thursday;
No questions to be asked at hearing by any outside counsel -- only senators;
Mark Judge must be subpoenaed;