d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Political & Religious Debate > My Views On Helping The Poor
Prev126272829Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 2.70
Apr 14 2015 02:09pm
Quote (AspenSniper @ Apr 14 2015 08:07pm)
[QUOTE=x]FoRsaKeN[x,Apr 14 2015 03:02pm]I definitely benefitted from having parents that let me live there til I was 23. Still could've made it work with roommates or a bit of student loan debt without much issue.

Oh god, please... if you were stupid enough to start a family and have kids before you were financially stable that's your own dumb fault though...

I didn't. I have a bachelor's degree and am working toward my master's and am only 22 years old. I make plenty of money and will have my loans paid off in no time.

The difference is I value my family, friends, personal time, and understand that not everyone has the same life as I do and may not be as privileged.

You judge everyone with yourself as the standard that you are comparing everyone to and that is extremely misguided. Hard work and your own personal character and achievements are not the only reasons why you are where you are today. It takes a lot of luck and privilege, but you seem to attribute this all to yourself.[/QUOTE]

I definitely do value myself and money as more of a priority than family, friends and personal time. You're correct on that and I know that isn't super common, but it can be if someone is in a financial pinch, that's kinda my point.

Attributing my success to luck and privilege is incorrect though. I very much believe we each control our own destiny almost entirely. I took risks in the career moves I did, but like a seasoned investor, they were calculated risks that I spent hours upon hours doing my homework on before pulling the trigger so that I knew that it'd benefit me. So far so good.[/QUOTE]

im sure kevin would be proud
Gold: 0.00
Apr 14 2015 02:10pm
Quote (AspenSniper @ Apr 14 2015 03:07pm)