d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Looking To Get Into Coding
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 136,000.00
Jul 28 2022 04:03pm
I feel pretty stuck currently job/carrer wise

When I graduated HS I just wanted to save up and move to NYC because I loved the city and fashion etc

Basically my parents really want me to go to school for coding, Ive always loved computers and been somewhat tech savvy so I'm sure as you all know that equals to a computer god to that generation lol

My parents offered to my half of my tuition to go to a community college for tech, and if I did good there they would pay for half my tuition to send me to a 4 year school

Would it be worth it for me to shell out like 40k and have my parents shell out like 40k for me to go back to college for CS or something like that, or would it be more worth it to take courses and try to really learn it on my own?

I find myself pretty intelligent, been when it came to focusing on school and learning stuff that I'm not REALLY interested in its hard for me.

I'm finally at the age though where I want to get a nice job and then follow all my passions on the side.

Im just kind of worried if this is for me, my 1st cousin works for cyber security in Boston making over 200k a year and they paid for her masters and such so my parents are always like oh BLANK did it you can too which is true to a sense but I feel like to actually do something like that you have to really want to do something like that. I'm sure all the work and the HW is going to be a straight grind and I'm ready for it, its just that I don't want to start and then hate it and waste some of my parents or my money

Anyone have any insight for me? I dont feel like I explained the situation too well but I tried the best I can

I don't know If I should be on youtube looking up series on learning different coding programs