d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Computer Building > Looking To Buy A Pc Late Summ - Iso Info On Build
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 2.44
May 25 2022 10:21pm
Hello, I'm looking to work extra hours this summer to drop down on a new tower. I've been using my old pc for about 8 years now and need upgrade. I will want something that will keep going for years to come and will focus on VR gaming, desktop gaming, and occasional video rendering.

Needs
1TB SSD
32GB ram
Windows(I own windows on current pc, I can use for both with same code I think, no? )
Blue color scheme

Price cap - 3.5K
No need monitor/mouse/keys/speakers

Questions that I have:

-Is it still worth to buy a pre built pc over building yourself? I would much prefer to build myself but I understand how things are with the bitcoin miners. But if possible I'd prefer to build myself.

-Should I use watercooler?

-Should I overclock for any reason?

I'm not very smart when it comes to how to properly build a pc from ground up, so I come to spend asking for help. :)
Any advice will be appreciated highly.

I hope to purchase in a couple of months, so if I'm too early to post I'll bump next month. Thanks :)

This post was edited by FYB on May 25 2022 10:22pm
Gold: 421.93
May 26 2022 07:38am
You'll need a new copy of windows (windows registers your parts and will invalidate if you shove your windows drive in a new PC)

Great budget, what resolution are you aiming for?

You mentioned blue, I'm thinking if blue is the aesthetic you're going for, some white parts and RGB lighting set to blue is the easiest way to make that happen

Overclocking isn't as much of a game changer now as it used to be. Lots of options up and down the budget so you generally go with what performance you need. If you're interested in overclocking you go with Ryzen or Intel K series (unlocked)