d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Switching Careers To A Programmer/software Enginee
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 2,805.00
May 19 2022 09:58am
Hello guys, I am currently in sales and making just shy over 6 figures. I have been considering switching to becoming a programmer but just never took it seriously. I have taken my first step today to learn the basics of Java via udemy. Just trying to get some advice from seasoned programmers on where should I start? Is it necessary for me to go back to school? Can I get away with self-learning or bootcamp? I have a business degree already but I know this won't help. I am 32 and i feel like it's late for me to switch but i am determined.
Retired Moderator
Gold: 952.50
Trader: Trusted
May 22 2022 01:01pm
Udemy isn't great, a lot of what you pay for can be found for free online - YouTube has an insane amount of free content, and freecodecamp is another great source.

It's not too late for you to switch.

Going back to school can make it a lot easier to get a job, especially if you take a program that involves co-op/internship opportunities. From what I can see a lot of the students I know received return offers from their internships pretty easily.

If you can get into computer science in uni, you can easily be on your way to a FAANG company for the big bucks, but it is extremely time consuming.

All in all, you absolutely can do it on your own / on the side. But you need to really want it, because it is a lot of work. Learning the concepts of programming is more important than learning a language, so choose whatever works for some sort of passion project you're interested in creating.

Another thing I've heard a lot is that experience, even unrelated, can be helpful and a lot of employers like people who are making a switch because it shows they are risking a lot and not just dipping their toes.
Gold: 0.01
May 22 2022 10:32pm