d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Science, Technology & Nature > Cybersecurity Analyst Of 15 Years: Ama
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 146.00
Oct 6 2021 02:29pm
Hello, I am a cybersecurity analyst who has been in the industry for 15 years with the US Government, Missile & Defense Contractors, as well as a Cybersecurity Instructor. I figured I would make this topic to bring some attention to the field and perhaps get some of you interested in the industry. For any questions for me? Fire away!
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Warn: 10%
Oct 6 2021 02:46pm
Would you recommend switching from sysadmin to security?

Security seems to be the buzz these days with the younger crowd - but they all seem to thing their life is going to be like Mr. Robot or Swordfish.

I've heard its a lot of compliance and check boxing.

Also what certification path would you recommend? Obviously with CEH/CISSP being the end goal, I would assume?
Oct 6 2021 03:09pm
Quote (Heaterr @ Oct 6 2021 03:46pm)
Would you recommend switching from sysadmin to security?

Security seems to be the buzz these days with the younger crowd - but they all seem to thing their life is going to be like Mr. Robot or Swordfish.

I've heard its a lot of compliance and check boxing.

Also what certification path would you recommend? Obviously with CEH/CISSP being the end goal, I would assume?

Definitely make the switch from sysadmin to security. The salaries will only continue to grow as more and more hacks become newsworthy, whereas sysadmin will pretty much stay at it's current salary with minimal raises due to inflation.

Your life can go the Mr. Robot route if you wish to be a penetration tester - specifically Red Team, where your job is penetration testing with virtually no limits - just break into things as if you're a real world hacker.