d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Computer Building > Building A Pc
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 180.00
Feb 14 2020 11:48am
Hey guys, wanted some opinions out there about actually building a PC.

I've never built one myself from scratch before - most extensive thing I've done is replace a CPU Fan.
If I plan on putting a fair amount of money into parts, is it worth it to try myself to save some money, or pay someone to make sure it is done right?
If I screw up, how likely am I to damage the hardware?

Couple options I found locally is Microcenter @$250 and Geek Squad @$200 (can I even trust geek squad to do it right? lol)

TYIA for the feedback
Gold: 10,655.00
Feb 14 2020 11:59am
Quote (TheWhiteNinja @ Feb 14 2020 12:48pm)

I've never built one myself from scratch before - most extensive thing I've done is replace a CPU Fan.
If I plan on putting a fair amount of money into parts, is it worth it to try myself to save some money, or pay someone to make sure it is done right?

Couple options I found locally is Microcenter @$250 and Geek Squad @$200 (can I even trust geek squad to do it right? lol)

TYIA for the feedback

Building a PC is easy. Hell, changing the CPU cooler is probably the hardest part.
As for cost, you will save $$ building your own, plus you will have the knowledge that you have decent parts as well. Rather than the just enough parts that come in prebuilts.
Gold: 180.00
Feb 14 2020 12:01pm
Quote (Ghot @ Feb 14 2020 01:59pm)
Building a PC is easy. Hell, changing the CPU cooler is probably the hardest part.
As for cost, you will save $$ building your own, plus you will have the knowledge that you have decent parts as well. Rather than the just enough parts that come in prebuilts.

Thanks for words of encouragement :)

just to clarify on above, If I had someone to do it for me I would still order all the individual parts and give them to someone to be put together
Not really a pre-built. Even counting for labor save a bunch that way