d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > General Help > Dynamic Sig > How?
Add Reply New Topic
dcast99
#1 Nov 22 2019 03:10pm
Group: Member
Posts: 13,216
Joined: May 10 2006
Gold: 3,258.69
I used to know how to do this but I forgot. Can someone please remind me of how to do a dynamic sig? I will be using imgur
Candyzcanes
#2 Nov 22 2019 05:04pm
Group: Member
Posts: 20,476
Joined: Dec 6 2008
Gold: 57.20
Trader: Mediator
You gotta either host the code yourself somewhere, or use a third party site to hold all your image urls (or actual images)

The key thing here is to make sure that they're all following guidelines, or it's extremely annoying for moderators to help you find, which can obviously lead to signature removal entirely

I know of sigrotor and grumpybumpers to do this as third party hosts. I don't vouch them, as I've never used them, but I've seen other jspers use em!
King Atrhur
#3 Nov 22 2019 05:06pm
Group: Member
Posts: 99,427
Joined: Feb 1 2006
Gold: 153,822.00
I vote for self hosting, then you can track ip's of people who load the image. B)
dcast99
#4 Nov 22 2019 05:10pm
Group: Member
Posts: 13,216
Joined: May 10 2006
Gold: 3,258.69
Thanks guys. I found grumpy bumpers which I think is what I used before..

Do you guys know if the set of multiple sigs has to be under 70kb total? (like if its two sigs they each have to be 35kb?)

or does the one sig showing at any moment have to be under 70kb? That should be easy.
roadtree
#5 Nov 22 2019 05:13pm
Group: Member

Posts: 8,180
Joined: Jun 12 2012
Gold: 75,413.95
Quote (dcast99 @ Nov 22 2019 01:10pm)
Thanks guys. I found grumpy bumpers which I think is what I used before..

Do you guys know if the set of multiple sigs has to be under 70kb total? (like if its two sigs they each have to be 35kb?)

or does the one sig showing at any moment have to be under 70kb? That should be easy.


the one showing has to be 70kb or less

the rule is in place to put a limit on the amount of data people have to load when they load the page.

only 1 image is being loaded each time so the limit is 70kb per image.

and obviously each image has to be within 400px by 150px

This post was edited by roadtree on Nov 22 2019 05:14pm
dcast99
#6 Nov 22 2019 05:15pm
Group: Member
Posts: 13,216
Joined: May 10 2006
Gold: 3,258.69
Quote (roadtree @ Nov 22 2019 06:13pm)
the one showing has to be 70kb or less

the rule is in place to put a limit on the amount of data people have to load when they load the page.

only 1 image is being loaded each time so the limit is 70kb per image.

and obviously each image has to be within 400px by 150px


perfect thanks.

This can be closed
slushslush
#7 Nov 22 2019 06:24pm
Group: Member
Posts: 42,025
Joined: Apr 8 2007
Gold: 0.00
Good luck
Go Back To General Help Topic List
Add Reply New Topic