d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Is It Realistic To Be A Freelancer In My Situation > Anyone With Some Experience?
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.35
Aug 29 2019 03:58pm
I am a computer science student on my third semester.

Due to have learned a lot in my spare time I have leaned enough already to build decent websites.
I even got a very good job as a PHP programmer for a huge hospital last year. So I have gained somewhat experience already as a student..

I'm now in a situation where I don't have time to have a regular student job as a programmer but at the same time I need to make 500$ each month to make my rent.

Therefor I've been thinking that I could make wordpress websites/webshops for folks even underpriced just to make sure I make at least 500$ each month.

But I have a feeling even though I'm willing to make the sites for a very good price it will be hard to find customers..

I've been searching for tips and tricks.
If I do it I will of course build my own website and show my portfolio, but I still have a feeling that customers are not just dumping in on my site.

My question is; is it a lot harder to make it work as a freelancer than all these blogs and articles make it seems? because when I search the web it make it looks like "yea just use social media, create your own site and you'll be fine"
But my gut says its actually really hard to compete against the big established sites. I dont have the money to be #1 when you google "wordpress sites".

Kind regards
Gold: 15.80
Aug 29 2019 05:20pm
Quote (filsoof @ Aug 29 2019 02:58pm)

Due to have learned a lot in my spare time I have leaned enough already to build decent websites.
I even got a very good job as a PHP programmer for a huge hospital last year. So I have gained somewhat experience already as a student..