d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Diablo II > Diablo 2 Discussion > Sorceress Beginner Questions
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 360.01
Oct 6 2018 01:34am
Hi,

I'm new to D2, playing a currently level 54 sorceress. Mainly doing cs runs in nm solo or in hell with friends who introduced me a little bit to how to level fast. (To get to know the game, I'm also playing a hardcore Amazon all by myself, doing all quests VERY slowly :-)) It would be great if someone could answer the following (probably noob) questions:

(1) Which armor is better: Haevenly Garb or Twitchthroe? According to my google search it seems a lot of people favor Twitchthroe because of the 75% block rate I get (with a 50% shield). However, I hate using mana pots every 10 seconds so I do like the 25% mana regeneration of Haevenly Garb. Also, I have the feeling I can anyway avoid almost any attack right now by running around all the time (plus the mana can regenerate while running) :-) So wouldn't that make HG much better? Or will I require the 75% block rate once I solo in hell?

(2) Do faster/fastest cast rates stack? I.e. if I have one item with 50% and another with 20% do I get 70%? Or is fastest = 50% = the maximum I can get?

(3) I read that static-orb was quite popular in the past but now people put only 1 point into static. Why? Wouldn't it be much easier to solo hell if I can static the monsters a few times and then hit an orb, and repeat? (Which would make it harder to avoid enemy attacks though :-))

(4) People say that for an orb sorc I should max ice bolt, but it only adds +2% per level. Wouldn't it be better to invest the skill points somewhere else instead? Same for cold mastery, I would leave it on 1, especially since it does only affect resistances and doesn't increase the overall damage (like fire mastery).