d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Learning Programming > Python Or Ruby
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 37.26
Dec 8 2017 12:55pm
Will pay up to 228fg for an insightful reply

I have been taking the cs50 course at Harvard online.
but reading the learn-programming subreddit everyone seams to agree the fastest way to learn on your own is:
pick a problem you want to solve and dive right into the corresponding language head first. Rather than doing all the basics shit, learning c, memory shit, watching lectures.

Anyways i want to begin machine learning, one of the many projects i have in mind is a website/program that runs many regression, statistical analysis to find value in spreads throughout multiple sports.
I have a finance degree from a good school, but decided i will lose my fucking mind in banking, or climbing the corporate ladder instead of creating something of my own.

I am going to dive head first into python or ruby.

I hear Ruby is more flexible but can be a total fucking bitch

while Python is much simpler and easy to debug

Looking for advice on which to learn. I am not sure if python will be limiting at all vs Ruby, or if ruby is just a headache.

or are there other languages that are also applicable to ML and also more diversifiable

This post was edited by LAP4JSP on Dec 8 2017 01:06pm
Gold: 57,185.00
Dec 9 2017 03:22am
PYTHON IS A GOOD LANGUAGE I WOULD DEFINITLY RECOMMEND
VERY SIMPLE BUT LOTS OF USEFUL LIBRARIES AND THE CODE IS MUCH SHORTER THAN C OR C++

NEVER USED RUBY THOUGH SO CANT REALLY TELL U MUCH ABOUT IT
Gold: 2,407.00
Dec 9 2017 11:30am
If you are going to do a project with web development and machine learning then Python is an easy winner. Python vs ruby for web development is an ongoing debate. I use Python for web development and I really like it, but they are pretty comparable.