d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > Which Programming Languages Should I Be Learning?
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 125.00
Jul 23 2017 04:29pm
Dejavu: I've asked this before. This time I'm a bit more serious.

A couple months back I took up Visual Basic. I didn't learn too much, but I got a feel for it. Prior to that, I learned C++ about ~8 years ago, though my ability level is not past that of a 1st year uni student.

What I am doing:

I'm a full-time accountant (junior) & accounting student. The first thing I've learned is that every piece of software that exists has serious issues. Some of the issues could EASILY be fixed, and improve workflow by over 50% on certain jobs. Some of the issues are more complex, but with proper accounting knowledge, logic-based programs could be developed to automate certain tasks.

An example of a task which could be automated: