d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Computer Hardware Discussion > Misc Computer Help > Browser Wont Open
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
aaakkk333
#1 Nov 3 2008 11:26am
Group: Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Oct 19 2008
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Warn: 50%
here is an exact copy of her txt messages about it (with a few spelling fixes tongue.gif )

i asked her what the problem is
she said: No clue because it connects to the internet like i talk on aim but no browser. someone said the computer has too much running on it.
i didnt text her back
she said: it says network timeout on firefox. oh and also it works as soon as i restart my computer for like 3 minutes. then quits.

so yea, thats the problem.
anyone know whats the problem and/or need more info about it?

This post was edited by aaakkk333 on Nov 3 2008 11:31am
infamous16
#2 Nov 3 2008 01:47pm
Group: Banned
Posts: 10,633
Joined: Jan 17 2007
Gold: Locked
Trader: Scammer
Warn: 20%
try re-installing firefox, or use google chrome or something else and see what happens.
eurynome
#3 Nov 3 2008 08:38pm
Group: Member
Posts: 1,401
Joined: Jan 21 2008
Gold: 0.00
She has malware/BHO. She may require your help, and it would probably be a good idea to copy the program install files to a flash drive if her internet stops.

0. Backup any important files
0.5. Run HijackThis and save the log.
1. Clean your computer to what she absolutely needs.
2. Run Ccleaner
3. Get Nod32/AVG/BitDefender and do a scan
4. Get Mike Lin's StartupCPL and check what's going on at boot.
5. Run HJT again and compare it to your first log
6. Post the log here.
marathonXL
#4 Nov 3 2008 11:38pm
Group: Member
Posts: 1,594
Joined: Apr 16 2007
Gold: 2.01
Quote (eurynome @ Tue, Nov 4 2008, 02:38pm)
She has malware/BHO. She may require your help, and it would probably be a good idea to copy the program install files to a flash drive if her internet stops.

0. Backup any important files
0.5. Run HijackThis and save the log.
1. Clean your computer to what she absolutely needs.
2. Run Ccleaner
3. Get Nod32/AVG/BitDefender and do a scan
4. Get Mike Lin's StartupCPL and check what's going on at boot.
5. Run HJT again and compare it to your first log
6. Post the log here.


i wouldnt jump to conclusions just yet need more info about the issue first
freakp
#5 Nov 4 2008 03:36am
Group: Member
Posts: 1,398
Joined: Jul 30 2007
Gold: 59.59
Quote (marathonXL @ Tue, Nov 4 2008, 05:38am)
i wouldnt jump to conclusions just yet need more info about the issue first


It could be just too many programs running in the background. Trend micro has a program called Hijack This. You can dl the program / run a scan / submit the results to a geek forum for support / and get real answers that mean something.

This post was edited by freakp on Nov 4 2008 03:37am
Ghot
#6 Nov 8 2008 04:01pm
Group: Member
Posts: 97,928
Joined: Apr 25 2006
Gold: 10,165.00
I don't know if this will help...but I had exact same problem with the Verizon FIOS router :/ I could still be in D2 for example but if I didn't use firefox or IE for like 2-3 hours...I'd have to reboot to get them to work again...

In MY case...it was the size of the small NAT table on the router....only 160 slots....which just being on D2 would fill up in about 2-3 hours....my solution was ditch the router....problem solved.

IF your friends problem is malware related then the fastest way to a cure is Malwarebytes Anti Malware found here: http://www.malwarebytes.org/ its a relatively new program and works fantastically !! They even have a very good support forum smile.gif Its free too!

tell your friend:

1. make sure she has the lastest firefox...its version 3.03 i believe
2. don't install toolbars on your browser..they are handy but slow things down and some are less than clean
3. check to see that something else like a running process or maybe another computer networked to hers isn't using all the bandwidth
4. DL Malwarebytes.....install it....update it and run a full scan
5. lastely there is also a firefox addon called NoScript found here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/search?q=noscript&cat=all which goes a long way to preventing problems with browser hijackers etc...
Borki
#7 Nov 10 2008 04:29am
Group: Member
Posts: 9,519
Joined: May 2 2008
Gold: 0.00
Trader: Trusted
CaptnCrunch
#8 Nov 10 2008 05:35pm
Group: Member
Posts: 3,995
Joined: Oct 17 2008
Gold: 30.85
try reinstalling firefox
Go Back To Misc Computer Help Topic List
Add Reply New Topic New Poll