d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Sports Coliseum > Martial Arts, Boxing & Wrestling > My First Bjj Competition As White Belt
12Next
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 830.00
Apr 4 2023 12:35pm
Hello fellow BJJ mates.

I have my first BJJ competition coming up in 3 weeks as a white belt in GI.

For like 6 years ago, i trained BJJ No-gi for a year, but i stopped and did other martial arts (standing, no grappling).

Just recently i started training BJJ with gi, and i've only been there for 2 months and i felt like signing up to this event and just see what happens. Iam nervous as shit, specially since its a big competition with international participants.
Iam also in the ultra heavy league (100,5 kg+) - my current weight is around 111 kg. Im in pretty good shape and very muscular and explosive, but i gas really fast when im nervous because i spend much of my power in stupid situations, where it doesn't matter. Iam aware of it, but it's hard to master myself when people wants to roll hard.

Does anyone have any advice for a newb? My strategy so far is to use Cross Collar Snap Down to Knee Pick takedown, i got the inspiration from this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BinXUNgGTHE

i've head really big success with it, i've gotten all other white belts in my gym down with it + a blue belt (he was only like 75-80 kg though) and a purple belt (also around 80 kg) - but does anyone know any other technically easy takedowns for a beginner? Maybe can show a video or some personal experience/preference?

Then when im down on floor with the guy, i would go for position instead of submission, since iam not really strong in my submission game yet, i only really feel comfortable with straight ankle foot lock, kimura, americana and rear naked choke or if i get in a lucky position, i can maybe get an armbar.