d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Learning An Instrument
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 213.00
Mar 16 2023 10:50pm
I’m a complete beginner musically and I’m wondering if I’m getting in over my head? Always been interested in playing but never had the means.

Apparently I have the hands for it and a deep voice I’ve been told to make use of, so thinking 2 birds 1 stone.

Any tips or any useful videos/information would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Edit - I’ll be attending weekly classes

This post was edited by wing_fighter2 on Mar 16 2023 11:15pm
Gold: 5,094.55
Mar 21 2023 08:21pm
motivation and discipline are for me the most important things (and the instrument ofc) and it seems you have all already :)

what kind of music you want to learn? I'm just being curious

what instrument are you learning?

and for now I think the only tips I could bring are talk to your teacher, sometimes the teacher is not good for you but you think you are doing something wrong. A good teacher should motivate you to practice and play a lot at the end of every class.

At the beginning it may feel a little hard and boring since your learn the basics and your fingers are adapting to the new "movements". But again, motivation and discipline will pay off later on if you keep on practicing. Which leads me to my final point

PRACTICE, every day. You don't have to practice 3 hours everyday. At the beginning literally 15min will be enough, but try to practice every day of the week, (ideally 6 of the 7 days, and respect that routine, your day off you shouldn't even look at the instrument)

if that's too much at the beginning np, 3 or 4 days a week will do the work