d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Entertainment Room > Musicians Chat > Guitar Amp?
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 3,000.00
Warn: 40%
Mar 27 2017 05:22pm
So I've recently started playing my electric guitars a lot more (fender tele elite and gibson sg) after being mostly a acoustic player, I've never really bothered with amps too much besides small practice amps.

But it's time now to get something half decent. I'm a rookie when it comes to this so suggestions and advice will be greatly appreciated.

Valve vs tube?
Half stack vs full stack vs combo?
Fender vs marshall vs orange vs roland vs whatever else?

Budget is around $1000aud so ~$8000usd. Mainly used for practicing around home and jamming. Predominantly old rock player, Eagles, Gunners, Led Zeppelin etc. Not in a band anymore although will be looking to join one again sometime
Gold: 13,024.66
Apr 1 2017 02:28pm
I'm not much of a gear snob, but I've been playing 8+ years so I'll give this a shot:

'stack' reffers to the speakers or can size and generally has nothing do with actual output power. That's where your head comes in. If you want to play live shows, you will need to get a tube amp. They have the best punch and good quality sound. I never liked combos because you can't change anything out and they don't have as much power as a head and cab. As you are figuring out, there are hundreds of amps out there.

Honestly you have 2 options:
Buy the one your favorite band uses, OR look into something like the Ax Fx.
For this example I'll use a Marshall JVM410H 100W (online about $1,200USD) vs the Ax Fx (~$2,400USD)

Advantages of the head:
'Out of the box ready' for the most part. Plug in, dial in the tone a little bit and your set.
Add a couple pedals as you progress or need them to get that perfect tone.
Decent resale value if you decide you want something different.

Advantages of the Ax Fx:
All-in-one package. Any sorts of effects you can dream of is in this box, no need to buy anything else ever.