d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > Computers & IT > Programming & Development > I Want To Work In Artificial Intelligence
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Retired Moderator
Gold: 35,078.94
Trader: Trusted
Apr 29 2016 12:49pm
If I wanted to learn to work in AI, what languages should I learn? Python? R?

Anyone involved in this? I'm an MBA grad working in sales/finance now and i'm so bored of it. I'd rather do something that changes something for good in the world and to do something I can create. I dont feel fulfilled selling software to businesses so they can speed up their processes by a few seconds. I love working in the stock market, but at this point in life, the bull market is dead and the only gains seen will be by people who have programmed algorithms that buy a stock at certain points and sell stocks at certain points that the human mind simply can't keep up with/compete with.

Does anyone work in AI? I'm serious about this.

Thanks
Gold: 84.38
Apr 29 2016 02:34pm
"Python is very widely used for Artificial Intelligence. "

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_programming_languages_for_artificial_intelligence

What the fuck is R?
Gold: 0.00
Warn: 20%
Apr 29 2016 05:20pm
Any language can be used for AI because AI is such a large field.

If you are looking at neural networks I suggest a language which has support for the already existing networks like Tensorflow that also has the ability to use a GPU as a way to process data.

You best bet is to look into using compiled languages for the task such as C, C++, Crystal, Cython (i think), and maybe a few others. Simply by choosing a compiled language you will see an increase in speed/performance over an interpreted language.
Gold: 84.38
Apr 29 2016 09:37pm
Quote (AbDuCt @ Apr 29 2016 05:20pm)
Simply by choosing a compiled language you will see an increase in speed/performance over an interpreted language.

This was my initial thought too but then reading it seemed like a lot of people use interpreted languages as well.