d2jsp
d2jsp Forums > Off-Topic > General Chat > Political & Religious Debate > Soren Kierkegaard
Prev1345
Add Reply New Topic New Poll
Gold: 0.00
Jun 28 2015 01:34pm
Quote (Gastly @ 28 Jun 2015 17:09)
Kierkegaard is one of the greatest philosophers to have ever lived

Lol...

'life is shit, stop enjoying it and realise you're going to die horribly and all your pursuits will end in anguish' - Kirkegaard

If that's the pinnacle of philosophy I'm fucking glad I'm studying actual sciences.

We're talking about a man whose brilliant thinking caused him to break off a marriage with the love of his life because he didn't believe love and marriage could co-exist. Poor fucker... Self fulfilling prophecy all the way. He thought life was pain so he created a life of pain for himself.

The guy is a cautionary tale.

This post was edited by Scaly on Jun 28 2015 01:37pm
Gold: 285.00
Jun 28 2015 01:55pm
Quote (Scaly @ Jun 28 2015 02:34pm)
Lol...

'life is shit, stop enjoying it and realise you're going to die horribly and all your pursuits will end in anguish' - Kirkegaard

If that's the pinnacle of philosophy I'm fucking glad I'm studying actual sciences.

We're talking about a man whose brilliant thinking caused him to break off a marriage with the love of his life because he didn't believe love and marriage could co-exist. Poor fucker... Self fulfilling prophecy all the way. He thought life was pain so he created a life of pain for himself.

The guy is a cautionary tale.

Not as much of a cautionary tale as Socrates. His neighbors literally made him kill himself.

And while "actual" sciences are good for describing what Is, philosophy is for what Ought to be. Prescriptive rather than descriptive. It is different. I suppose you could say "I'm fucking glad I play baseball a lot" and it would have the same meaning more or less.

This post was edited by Skinned on Jun 28 2015 01:58pm
Gold: 68.99
Warn: 10%
Jun 28 2015 01:57pm
Quote (Scaly @ Jun 28 2015 10:34pm)